Select your language

The Interdenominational Protection Panel was established in 2001 when the child protection policy 'For the Sake of Our Children' was introduced. The Panel is a limited company since 2009 and directors are from the Union of Welsh Independents, Baptist Union of Wales and Presbyterian Church of Wales - "the three denominations".

In 2022 we changed our name to the Interdenominational Safeguarding Panel 

The role of the Panel is to support and advise the three denominations in relation to safeguarding practice in their work with children, young people and vulnerable adults.  This is done through the production and updating of the safeguarding policy as well as by providing training, advice and support to local bodies. The Panel Safeguarding Officer operates as the the Safeguarding Officer for the three denominations noted above and should be informed of all local safeguarding concerns.  

As a registered body with the Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) the panel is responsible for processing DBS checks for employees and volunteers within the three denominations. In 2008 it expanded to become an 'umbrella body' enabling it to provide disclosure checks for organisations and agencies who are not members of the three denominations.

The panel employs a training and safeguarding officer (25 hours) and administration officer (28 hours)

The panel staff and officers facilitate Panel meetings to discuss matters relating to safeguarding policy and practice and make decisions regarding blemished disclosures. The panel is made up of representatives of the three denominations who are nominated based on their expertise, interest or proffessional background. We adhere to a strict confidentiality code.

Panel Staff

Administrative Officer - Sian Jones

Safeguarding and Training Officer - Julie Edwards

Officers of the Interdenominational Safeguarding Panel

(Company Limited by Guarantee /6885389)


Chair of the Panel:  Dwyryd Williams

Rev. Judith Morris  

Rev. Dyfrig Rees

Mrs. Nia W Williams

Rev. Nan Wyn Powell-Davies


Members of the Interdenominational Safeguarding Panel

Hywel Davies

Dr Owain Edwards / Sian Edwards

Alison Jones

Cliff Williams

Rev Simeon Baker

Rev Irfon Roberts

Rev Jill Hailey Harries

Dr Fiona Gannon

Alun Puw

Ann Bowen Morgan